> News > News > Suva, Nadi in FACT final

Suva, Nadi in FACT final

Suva football coach Saroj Kumar was over the cloud after the Capital City Boys booked a spot in the final of the 2019 Vodafone Fiji FACT beating Ba 5-4 in penalty kicks.

An emotional Kumar said it was the best result he got over Ba in his coaching career.

“My players gave all they had in store to hold Ba who are always tough to play against,”said Kumar

“It’s a great result for Suva and I must thanks the players for playing according to the game plan and putting all they had in 120 minutes of football,”

Suva and Ba played out 120minutes of football before the winner was decided in the penalty kicks

In the game proper, the Capital City side had opened the scoring through tournament leading goal scorer Gagame Feni when he placed his shot well past Misiwani Nairube to extend his goal scoring tally to six.

The Emori Ragata captained side held a slender 1-0 lead at the breather.

Minutes into the second half Ba were awarded a penalty for a foul on Saula Waqa. Narend Rao scored from the penalty spot.

Ba 1-1 Suva

Old guard Simione Tamanisau was called on after Ragata was injured trying to stop a sure Ba goal midway in the second half.

Both teams could not extend their lead despite creating numerous chances before heading for two-spells of extra time.

Tamanisau made some daring saves that kept his side in the game while Nairube was on his toes clearing off the line the other end.

Then came the dreaded penalty shoot-out that required nerves of steel in-front of the close to 5000 fans.

Avinesh Waran, Manasa Nawakula and Malakai Rakula scored from 12-yards while young Kishan Sami and Captain Malakai Tiwa missed.

Kelvin Naidu, Gagame Feni, Sahil Dave and Iosefo Verevou were successful while Filipe Baravilala saw his attempt rocket over the bar.

Suva will play Nadi in the final tomorrow at 3pm.

Both teams have met twice in the FACT final with the Green Machine coming out victors on both occasions in 2014 and 2016.

The Jetsetters also appeared in the 2017 final but lost to Rewa 1-0. They have won the FACT title four-times.

Suva last won the FACT final in 2012 in Ba over the Men in Black while its first win was back in 1995.

Ba: Misiwani Nairube, Manasa Nawakula, Sitiveni Cavuilagi, Ratu Dau, Darold Kakasi, Abbu Zahid, Shazil Ali, Ilimotama Jese, Saula Waqa, Malakai Tiwa (Captain), Narend Rao.

Suva: Emori Ragata, Epeli Leiroti, Michael Boso, Remueru Tekiate, Gagame Feni, Iosefo Verevou, Meli Codro, Tomasi Uculoa, Ratu Anare Apenisa, Waisake Navunigasau, Filipe Baravilala.

Related posts