> News > 2017 Vodafone Fiji FACT > Labasa Strong Contenders

Labasa Strong Contenders

The Babasiqa Lions have fought out for the top spot in the Vodafone Premier League that underlines their strong contention for the 2017 Vodafone Fiji FACT. Labasa are back in the big league and riding high on their lethal combination from the old days of a mix of young and some experience campaigners.

The side have been strengthen with the inclusion of former Vodafone Fiji under 20 players and Suva reps Nikil Chand and Antonio Tuivuna.

Another victory beckons in this year’s Vodafone Fiji FACT for the Babasiqa Lions as they have shown they have a combination that can win against the best east, west and all places in between.

They will have no shortage of support in their opening fixture in Nausori and look likely to have another big showing in the cards.

If they are able to get the same sort of thrust and finishing as they did in their 2016 Court IDC win. Their record had been only fair in tournaments away from their home ground in the past but they now seem to have developed a knack of winning no matter what and where the venue is.

They have all the big names on their roster, and they will no doubt put in a real show Labasa style, the way the fans like it best.

Labasa have a great chance to improve on their Fiji FACT record of four times this year after their last win in 2015.

As it stands, they will be a hard side to beat and look set to make it an exciting set of matches against defending champions Nadi, Ba and Dreketi.

The Babasiga Lions open their campaign against neigbours Dreketi at 5.30pm on Friday at Ratu Cakobau Park in Nausori.

Squad: Labasa

1.Akuila Mateisuva (GK) 2. Mohammed Jashmir Isaac, 3. Ravikash Krishna, 4. Iliasa Nayasi, 5. Timoci Junior Dovi, 6. Nickel Chand, 7. Edwin Sahaym, 8. Anish Khem, 9 Lekima Gonerau, 10. Christopehr Wasasala 11. Ilisoni Lolaivalu, 12. Manasa Levaci, 13. Ratu Anare Apenisa, 14. Leone Damudamu, 15. Ilisoni Logavou, 16 Antonio Tuivuna, 17. Jonetani Buksh, 18. Pita Bolaitoga, 19. Taneila Waqa.20. Shamal Lal, 21. Petero Namoce (GK) 22. Jitoko Vulava (GK)

Related posts