> News > News > Fiji FA Awards Night

Fiji FA Awards Night

The Global Flight Center Fiji Football Awards Night will be held on March 18, 2017 to acknowledge the hard work and commitment by both players and those behind the scenes in sports in Fiji.

Fiji Football Association chief executive officer Bob Kumar confirmed that awards night would be for past two years (2015 and 2016).

“Due to Cyclone Winston last year we postponed the awards night so we have decided to host both this year as we have received some nominations last year.”

Kumar said they would have independent judges who would look at the nominees.

“We will have neutral judges who will decide on the best candidates, “Kumar said.

He said they have received some nominations this year but urge districts to think of their best candidates.

“We want to acknowledge the commitment and hard work of those behind football and we request every district to send in their nominations.”

“The nomination will close on March 10.”

Kumar said this year they would see some new awards to make function more interesting and eventful.

“The nomination for the 2015 is with us and we request districts to send their nominations before March 10,”Kumar said.

Kumar said it was an opportunity for football managers to give recognition for the achievements made by the footballers that would have a lasting effect in his/her sporting career.

“Late nominations and incomplete documents will be not accepted, “he said.

Meanwhile Lautoka striker Mohammed Shazeel Ali, Labasa striker Ratu Anare, Ba striker Saula Waqa, Suva’s Setareki Hughes, Ba and national u17 girls goalkeeper Francin Lockington and Rewa defender Naomi Waqanidrola have been nominated as Vodafone Popular Player of the Year Award.

The following award categories will be contested:

  1. Coach of the Year, 2 Player of the Year, 3 Administrator of the Year (Premier), 4 Administrator of the Year (Senior) 5. Popular Player of the Year (Public Voting) 6. Woman Footballer of the Year, 7. Junior Player of the Year.8 Team of the Year, 9. Referee of the Year Award,10. Fair Player of the Year, 11. Football Personality of the Year (Presidents Award) 12. Volunteer of the Year, 13. Employee of the Year (Fiji FA Award)

Related posts