> News > News > Dave Gets VPL Golden Ball Award

Dave Gets VPL Golden Ball Award

Vodafone Fiji national midfielder and Lautoka rep Dave Radrigai was awarded the Best Player of the Vodafone Premier League 2017 during the awards night in Lautoka last Friday.

Radrigai who was instrumental in Lautoka’s undefeated win in the Vodafone Premier League last season.

He said he was proud to receive the award and dedicated his award to his families and Lautoka fans.

“I am really honored to receive the award and I would like to thank Lautoka Football president Abdul Kadar and other officials for having faith in me.”

Lautoka team was also presented with the Vodafone Premier League trophy and $1800 prizemoney.

Abdul Kadar said the Vodafone Premier League 2017 win came by a target that was set by them at the beginning of the season.

“We sat down at the beginning of the season and had a brain storming session on what we were going to target this year and work towards achieving it,” Kadar said on Friday night.

“It was a roller coaster ride but the administrative side of the whole scene had to be in place first before we could achieve anything.

“Once we had got our act together as officials, then everything will fall into place and that exactly what happened.”

The Lautoka football side remained unbeaten throughout the VPL and were points ahead of second place getters Ba.

“We have a lot of people to thank and who had been with us throughout the years and are still with us and that includes Design Engineering, Singh’s Rentals, General Machinery, Oceania Waters, Global Cleaning, Global Flights, JK Builders, Chovan Pharmacy and a lot of other companies and individuals who assisted.”

Ba as runners-up received $6000 and third place-getters Suva got $1000.


Fair Play Team Award: Dreketi
Golden Boot: Tito Vodowaqa (Nadi)-10 goals
2nd Place: Nadi
Winner: Rewa ($4000).
Fair Play Team Award: Tavua
Golden Boot: Shelveen Jeet Singh (Nadroga)- 13 goals
2nd Place: Seaqaqa
Winner: Tavua ($6000)


Fair Play Team Award: Ba

Golden Boot: Saula Waqa (Ba)- 10 goals

Golden Ball Award/ Player of the Year– Dave Radrigai (Lautoka)

3rd Place: Suva

2nd Place: Ba

Winner: Lautoka ($18,000).

Related posts