> News > News > Nadroga Dedicate Win To Former Players,Supporters

Nadroga Dedicate Win To Former Players,Supporters

Nadroga Football Association president Mohammed Ali says they were confident of winning the 2017 Courts Inter District Championship from day one of the tournament.

The Stallions defeated Navua 2-1 in a thrilling final at Churchill Park in Lautoka after thrashing Tailevu Naitasiri 5-0 in the semi-final.
Ali said they prepared well for the tournament and their hardwork paid off.

“I am feeling very proud today because we have worked very hard and we have come to the stage that we have won the tournament,”Ali said.

“Many thanks to my officials and my boys who trained and worked hard to give back what we wanted.”

Ali dedicated the win to all past officials, former players and Nadroga supporters.

“I dedicate this win to past officials and to all former players who have shown so much interest and support to this young team.”

The former Nadroga rep said the development program set up by his administration was the reason behind the success.

“My success to this Nadroga team are my secondary schools, namely Cuvu Collge, Sigatoka Methodist because they have developed some players that we are using and they have done quite well in the team.”

Ali said there was a lot of support from the former players.

“Yes there is lot of support from the former player’s likes of Kaminieli Tuilawaki, Emosi Watkins, Mohammed Shameem, Waisea Tale they have all come in to support our team.

He said he came in power three months ago and had very good support from the officials and business houses.

“I have very good sponsorship coming from Sigatoka, namely Tappoos, Moshin’s Instulation, Uniquely Fiji just to name a few and there are few more sponsors who have come in across to help us even though we are in the senior division.”

Ali said they were aiming high to return to the senior division.

Nadroga also scooped major awards in the senior division.

They were awarded 2017 Courts IDC Fare Play Team Award, Captain Tomasi Tuicakau was scooped the Golden Boot Award while striker Shelvin Jeet Singh won the Golden Boot Award.

Related posts