> News > 2017 Vodafone Fiji FACT > Nadi Aim To Defend Title

Nadi Aim To Defend Title

The JACK’s Nadi Football team has wrapped up its final preparation to defend their Vodafone Fiji FACT title which kicks off today at Ratu Cakobau Park in Nausori.

Assistant coach and former rep Villiame Toma said they had done all they could to defend their title.

“I know the pressure is on our side as defending champions but we have done our best,”Toma said

He said Nadi would be banking on experienced players to lead the team.

“We’ve got some experienced players like goalkeeper Vereti Dickson and also returning to the team is Ilimotama Jese as he will be boosting the team this week,” Toma said.

The defending champions is looking forward to another year of tough competition and hopefully they can retain their title this year.

The former national defender said playing against the Men-in-Black in their first match would be tough but the players had to prove themselves.

“We have beaten Ba in our last Vodafone Premier League and for sure they will come as wounded tiger to take the revenge but we are fully prepared to face them.”

The former Nadi rep said with the postponement of the tournament because of Tropical Cyclone Ella they had more time to formalise and bond together.

“We regrouped and had an extra time for training we know that our first match will be tough but we are ready for the challenge.

“Ba is a good side as we know all first matches will be tough but we need to approach it with confidence and get as many goals as we can to get good results.

“For the confidence of the boys it’s important for them to start on a high note and try to win all our pool games,” he said.

The Jetsetters face Ba at in their opening fixture at 3pm today and play Nadi at 1pm on Saturday before taking Labasa on Sunday at 2.30pm.



  1. Vereti Dickson 2. Mosese Balebagaga 3. Luke Rawadamu 4. Rupeni Rabici 5. Alfraz Ali 6. Andrew Alfred Naicker 7. William Valentine 8. Waisake Tabucava 9.Ratu Josefata Dugucagi 10. Rusiate Matererenga 11. Ilmotama Jese 12. Ame Votaniu 13, Elvin Prasad 14. Patrick Noel Joseph 15. Napolioni Qasevakatini 16. Wayne Bennett 17. Martin Nasova 18. Ame Totoya 19. Jone Ralulu 21. Samuela Tamanisau (GK) 22. Samuela Waqabitu (GK)

Related posts