> News > 2015 INKK MOBILE BATTLE OF THE GIANTS > Tailevu Naitasiri held Lautoka

Tailevu Naitasiri held Lautoka

Playing in their first BOG, the Southerners backed by vocal home crowd performed exceptionally well against their superior opponents but failed to utilize the opportunities with lack of finishing.#The Emmanuel Mannu coached were determined and displayed some structured football and could have even gone up at the stroke of halftime had midfielder Kaliova Tivulu netted a penalty after striker Joseph Elder was brought down inside the box by Zibraaz Sahib and the match referee Deepak Mudaliar did not hesitate to award a penalty. #Tailevu Naitasiri midfielder Kaliova Tivulu stood up to take the spot kick but his attempt came off the cross-bar. #Former Suva,Lautoka and Nadroga goalkeeper Alifereti Baleiloa who made his debut for the southerners displayed some excellent goalkeeping denied Lautoka any chances to score.#The Shop and Save Blues Lambert Sarju sent in Edward Justin and Ratu Josefata Dugucagi in the second half with the hope of netting their opener Baleiloa stood tall. #The former Blues stopper displayed a Man of the Match performance and did not disappoint in his first tournament appearance for the Immanuel Manu coached side.# #Blues coach Lambert Sarju was not too pleased with the outcome and said they will have to work harder in the remaining matches to stand a chance of progressing to the last four.# “We had so many chances yet we could not score. The match was definitely a tough one. We had expected a tough game but not a draw. We need to go back and relook at our strategies and come back stronger in the next game,” he said.#Lautoka plays Nadi in its next match at 5pm tomorrow while Tailevu Naitasiri will take on Suva at 3pm.#The teams: Lautoka- Senirusi Bokini, Zibraaz Sahib, Kelvin Naidu, Arvindra Naidu, Kavaia Rawaqa, Alvin Avinesh, Isikeli Jeke, Peni Finau (C), Jone Vono, Siotame Kubu, Jone Nailogi. #Tailevu Naitasiri- Alifereti Baleiloa, Semi Vakatalai, Ravendra Nadan, Madhavan Goundar, Joseph Elder, Nasoni Mereke, Luke Rawadamu, Jone Senikibau, Kaliova Tivulu, Savirio Naqoli, Shivneel Ram.#

Related posts