> News > VODAFONE FIJI FACT 2014 > Nadi, Suva book semifinal Spot

Nadi, Suva book semifinal Spot

The win guaranteed the defending champion a place in the semifinal next weekend along with Suva. Both Suva and Nadi claimed their second victory today to stay on top with six points each.

Lautoka put a up a strong challenge at led 2-0 at the break after goals from Alvin Avinesh and Ratu Dugucagi.
It seemed that the Lautoka onslaught was too much to handle for the defending champions but that was not meant to be.
A string of changes inspired Nadi as Semesa Muadonu came off the bench to pull one back. Amani Makoe equalized a minute from full time. The clash was headed for a tie but yet another replacement Jolame Vukivuki nailed the match winning goal in extra time to seal Nadi a semifinal berth.
Nadi coach Kamal Swamy applauded the efforts of his side.
“The young boys in the side are all from Nadi and today they showed what playing for the district meant for that. The Suva game is another crucial one as it determines the pool winner and runner up,” Swamy said.
“We will have to rectify our mistakes as it was costly. We were two goals down but the result proved that we have a good fighting spirit.”
Nadi and Suva clash at 3.30pm tomorrow to decide the winner and runner up of Pool B.
Full Time: Nadi 3 Lautoka 2
Nadi Goals: Semesa Muadonu 72’;Amani Makoe 89’; Jolame Vukivuki 90+2’
Nadi Cautions: Ilimotama Jese 23’
Lautoka Goals: Alvin Avinesh 17’;Ratu Dugucagi 62’
Lautoka Cautions: Alvin Avinesh 28’;Ratu Dugucagi 41’;Jone Vono 89’
5pm Ratu Cakobau Park, Nausori
Nadi: 1. Vereti Dickson (GK), 2. Rahul Krishna,4. Shafim Buksh, 7. William Valentine, 9. Vuniuci Tikomaimereke,11. Ilimotama Jese, 13. Lekima Gonerau, 14. Samuela Drudru, 15. Napalioni Qasevakatini, 16. Amani Makoe, 18. Eliki Ravosai (C)
Substitutes: 22. Beniaminio Mataniqara (GK), 3. Semesa Muadonu, 5. Filipe Baravilala, 6. Ratu Inia Bainivalu, 12. Ame Votoniu, 17. Jolame Vukivuki, 20. Mataiasi Toma
Coach: Kamal Swamy
Lautoka: 22. Levi Tawake (GK), 2. Iliesa Lino, 3. Zibraaz Sahib, 10. Josefata Dugucagi, 11. Waisea Junior, 12. Alvin Avinesh (C), 14. Isikeli Jeke Keli, 16. Jone Vono Junior, 17. Maika Waqa, 19. Jone Nailogi, 8. Kavaia Rawaqa,
Substitutes: 4. Edward Justin,5. Ratu Vita Dovibua, 7. Eran Underwood, 6. Siron Naidu, 15. Siotame Kubu18. Kelevi Waqa, 9. Tevita Rabakewa, 1. Senirusi Bokini (GK), 20.Semesa Nakosia, 13. Poasa Bainivalu
Coach: Dennis Singh

Related posts