> News > News > Roy Krishna wins Wellington Sportsman of the Year Award

Roy Krishna wins Wellington Sportsman of the Year Award

Fijian sensational and former Wellington Phoenix striker Roy Krishna added one more trophy to his shelf at the Wellington Sports Awards where he walked away with the Sportsman of the Year Award.

Krishna, a day after he confirmed his departure from Wellington to play in the Indian Super League, won the men’s award after a stellar season where he won the A-League Golden Boot for his 19-goal haul.

In a strong field for the sportsman award, Hurricanes and All Blacks halfback TJ Perenara, Storm NRL forward Nelson Asofa-Solomona and top amateur golfer Daniel Hillier were among the finalists.

There was more joy for football, with Team Wellington named team of the year for their OFC Champions League victory which booked them a spot at the Fifa Club World Cup where they suffered an agonising defeat on penalties to United Arab Emirates champions Al Ain.

The awards period spanned from April 17, 2018, to April 17 this year.

Related posts