> News > HEADLINE NEWS > Labasa, Navua top primary Football

Labasa, Navua top primary Football

Labasa returned home with the title they won for the first time since 2009. The baby Lions did not conceive a single goal in the three day tournament. #Solomone Korotari and Vinay Singh scored a goal each in the first half in the 2-0 drubbing of Lautoka in the U14 final.#Earlier in the day, Labasa edged defending champions Tavua 1-0 in the dying stages in the semi-final while Lautoka hammered Nasinu 4-0 in the one sided affair. #Labasa Primary School Soccer Association president Gyan Singh was over the moon after his team repeated their 2009 victory.#“We, the players and officials are happy after a long time we are returning with the glory to the north after four years,” Singh said.#“I would like to dedicate this win to the coaches and the hard working management of the team, the player and their families as they have sacrificed a lot. #“We have spent about $4000 to come this far and this is a good return for us. We now look forward to the Courts Primary IDC in two weeks time,” he said.#In 2009 Labasa beat Rewa at Thompson Park in Navua. #The Vashist Muni Institute sponsored Navua team created history, after the side claimed their first ever Under 12 title beating hosts Lautoka 2-0 in penalty shoot out as both team were locked scoreless after injury time.#Meanwhile, Lautoka defeated Nadi 2-1 in penalty shoot out in the controversial semi-final rematch. #Fiji Primary School Soccer Association general secretary Narendra Rao said it was a good tournament.#“There were few hiccups but overall it was a very good event with players showing incredible performance, we shall work on few things in the future tournaments,” Rao said.#The FPSSA would like to thank the Ministry of Education, Fiji Football Association, Lautoka Central primary school and all the teams that were part of the championships.#Other awards – #Outstanding player award U14: Apisai Rabaua (Labasa).#Outstanding player award U12: Avneel (Navua).#Fairplay team award U12: Suva. #Fairplay team award U14: Nadroga. # Fiji Sun

Related posts