> News > HEADLINE NEWS > Civic Crowned Club Champions

Civic Crowned Club Champions

Namaka started their campaign applying pressure on Civic defenders as striker Samuela Drudru missed three attempts at goal.
Goalkeeper cum striker Beniaminio Mataeinqara opened the account for the Namaka side in the thirteen minute with a powerful drive beating Civic goalkeeper Uliasi Tamanisau.
Civic equalized seven minutes later as Vodafone Fiji U20 defender Kolinio Sivuki scored from the penalty spot after Pita Rabo was brought down in the box by Namaka defender Krishna Swamy.
Namaka wasted no time as the side regrouped and in the 21st minute striker Ben Aminio Mataniqara gave the westerners the lead, when he utilized a perfect through ball from fellow forward Samuel Drudru.
Civic came back strongly in the second spell after a cross from Naplolioni Qasavakatini to Emori Raqata who headed in the equaliser just two minutes from the start of the second half.
Raqata’s goal boosted the Suva-based club as they began dominating the first few minutes of the second-half keeping Namaka at bay.
Nickel Chand, who only appeared for the final for his Civic side proved his worth in the dying stages of the match after missing few attempts at goal.
However, he finally struck the winning goal past Namaka stopper Vereti Dickson with a stop and go kick, flexing his body to an accurate angle to unleash the left-foot strike.
Civic Football Club won the championship for the first time and walked away with prize money of $3000.
Avikash Chand
Fiji FA Media

Related posts