> News > LATEST NEWS > No Pressure In Naming Team: Gamel

No Pressure In Naming Team: Gamel

Vodafone Fiji National coach Christhope Gamel had made it clear that he had no pressure in naming the 25 member national squad yesterday at Fiji Football Headquarters in Vatuwaqa.

Gamel said that there had been lots of critics but he made it clear that he was the one who decides which player gets into the national squad and was not pressured by Fiji FA.

“I want to make it clear that Fiji FA is always the one getting attacked but actually I’m the only one who should be blamed,” Gamel said.

“I want to stop all the criticisms now. There is no pressure on me to select players. I choose the players that I want and need and if I’m not doing that then I won’t be doing this job.

“The first game will be hard because honestly one training session to prepare will be tough but we’re not only planning for this game, we are planning for the future as well.

“We have a young team and also talented one as well. Several districts are represented here, I’ve kept some senior players and bring in new ones and we need to see the potential of the players and how well they will gel in with each other and read the game.

“Those are the things I want to improve, and we need the support of the fans and everyone in Fiji.”

Fijian wonder boy Roy Krishna is out for the first leg but Gamel hopes he joins for the second leg on Sunday.

“Roy has some commitment with his club Wellington Phoenix and I hope we can get him for the second round on Sunday,”Gamel said.

Gamel said Roy was always welcome to be part of the team.

Fiji plays Solomon Islands tonight at 7pm at ANZ Stadium in Suva and will play in the second friendly on Sunday at Churchill Park in Lautoka at 3pm.

 National squad: Ba- Remuera Tekiata, Sitiveni Cavuilagi, Saula Waqa, Laisenia Raura, Shaneel Naidu; Lautoka- Kolinio Sivoki, Kavaia Rawaqa, Dave Radrigai, Ilaitia Tuilau; Nadi- Alfraz Ali, Napolioni Qasevakatini,, Waisake Tabucava, Andrew Naicker; Rewa-, Vuniuci Tikomaimereke, Amani Makoe, Epeli Saukuru, Madhwan Goundar, Iosefo Verevou; Suva- Setareki Hughes,  Ravinesh Karan Singh, Tevita Koroi; Labasa- Christopher Wasasala; Navua- Zane Lingham, Manav Permal.

Related posts