> News > HEADLINE NEWS > Nadi, Ba bag major awards

Nadi, Ba bag major awards

Nadi coach Kamal Swamy bagged the coach of the year, their skipper Beniaminio Mateinaqara –footballer of the year, Munit Krishna –Fair Play award and striker Rusiate Matarerega was voted the popular player of the 2013 season.
Ba was rewarded as the team of the year and their president Rishi Kumar was named the best football administrator. In the premier division, Zahid Hussein received the premier administrator award.
Fiji Under-19 and Rewa rep Iosefo Verevou received the junior footballer award and Rakesh Chandra the referee of the year.
Women’s football was not ignored at the awards ceremony as Ba’s Adiela Kurukaba walked away with the women’s footballer of the year award.
As practiced in the past years a media award was also handed out. Irfaan Khan from the Fiji Television sports department was named the best journalist of the year.
Fiji Football Association on the night also honoured Fijian international striker Roy Krishna with the Fiji FA Ambassador award.
Hardworking Fiji FA referees director Paresh Kishore was the recipient of the president’s award.
The annual Fiji FA awards were sponsored by Global Flight Centre which has promised for more initiatives next year.
Global Flight Centre/Fiji Football Association Awards
Below are the winners:

Team of the Year: Ba
Coach of the Year: Kamal Swamy –Nadi
Administrator of the Year: Rishi Kumar- Ba (Super Premier)
Administrator of the Year: Zahid Hussein – Taveuni (Premier)
Referee of the Year: Rakesh Chandra (Lautoka)
Footballer of the Year: Beniaminio Mateinaqara- Nadi
Women Footballer of the Year: Adiela Kurukaba- Ba
Popular Footballer of the Year: Rusiate Matarerega- Nadi
Junior Footballer of the Year: Iosefo Verevou – Rewa
Fair Play Award: Munit Krishna – Nadi
Media Award: Irfaan Khan – Fiji TV
President’s Award: Paresh Kishore
Special Award- Fiji FA Ambassador Award: Roy Krishna (Wellington Phoenix)

Related posts