> News > HEADLINE NEWS > Fiji Nations Cup squad named

Fiji Nations Cup squad named

National team director and Fiji FA Vice president Tarunesh Reddy says the national team coach has named a balanced 23-man squad, which has a good blend of youth and experience.
“Frank Farina had a very tough job because around 35 players were competing for the 23 available spots.
“It’s a squad with a mixture of senior as well as young players who will be part of the Rio Olympics in August,” he says.
“There are 12 players who have just returned from the U-23 national team’s four-match tour of Brazil, and hopefully what they’ve learned there will help the side in PNG.”
The squad also includes two Papua New Guinea based players Pita Bolaitoga and Remueru Takiate.
The Hekari United defenders possess valuable information about the local conditions in Port Moresby.
The captain and vice-captain will be named next week with Wellington Phoenix striker Roy Khrisna and Ba FC defender Alvin Singh the most likely candidates to be offered the roles.
Reddy says the squad is currently in a training camp in Ba to put the finishing touches on their preparations.
“Prior to the team’s departure the players will mainly be working on their combination, structure and the different formations.
“We are aiming high at the Nations Cup and our objective is to qualify for the 2017 Confederations Cup,” says Reddy.
“All the other teams will be well prepared and it will be tough.
“However, we are looking for another history making performance like those produced by our U-20 team at last year’s World Cup in New Zealand or by our U-23 side which qualified for the Rio Olympics.”
The Fiji national team will leave for PNG on 26 May.
Frank Farina’s men will begin their OFC actions Cup campaign against New Zealand two days later.
Fiji OFC Nations Cup squad
Beniaminio MATEINAQARA (Suva FA)
Simione TAMANISAU (Rewa FC)
Shaneel NAIDU GK (Dreketi FC)
Kolinio SIVOKI (Lautoka FC)
Jale DRELOA (Suva FC)
Remueru Takiata (Hekari)
Pita BOLAITOGA (Hekari)
Amani MAKOE (Rewa FC)
Setareki HUGHES (Suva FC)
Nickel CHAND (Suva FC)
Laisenia RAURA (Ba FC)
Malakai TIWA (Ba FC)
Ilisoni LOGAIVOU (Labasa FC)
Taione KEREVANUA (Labasa FC)
Roy KRISHNA (Wellington Phoenix)
Rusiate MATAREREGA (Suva FC )
Samuela NABENIA (Ba FC)
Iosefo VEREVOU (Rewa FC)
Ilimotama JESE (Nadi FC)

Related posts