> News > COURTS IDC 2013 > Ba crowned IDC Champs

Ba crowned IDC Champs

Nadi made a perfect start in the final and dominated the first half. Their hard work was rewarded with a Viliame Toma goal.
Ba came out strong in the second half and they were awarded a penalty by referee Finau Vulivuli just minutes inside the new half.
Goal scoring defender Avinesh Waran Suwamy was not going to miss this golden opportunity as both sides end the normal time 1-1.
Two spells of extra time was played and it was young Abbu Zahid who nailed the winning goal just as the match was set to head for penalty kicks.
Zahid also had scored the winning goal for Ba earlier in the semifinal when Ba dethroned defending champion Finance Pacific Suva 1-0.
Nadi scored in the dying stages for a 1-0 victory over Labasa to qualify for the final.
Ba last lifted the prestigious title back in 2007. They had lost in the final last year and in 2011.
Osea Vakatalesau, the Ba skipper says they dedicated the epic victory to late fomer Ba legend Farouk Janeman who recently passed away and to the die-hard fans.
“I would like to thank late Farouk Janeman for his contribution towards this team. I would like to dedicate this win to him,” Vakatalesau said.
“To the Ba fans, without your support we would not have been able to achieve what we came to achieve,” he added.
Nadi also scored a late goal against Ba in the dying minutes but the goal was ruled off side.
Ba side was rewarded with the first prize money of $15,000. Taveuni was crowned the IDC premier division champions for the very first time after a 1-0 victory over Dreketi.
Ba maintained their dominance with a 1-0 win over Labasa in the primary school final which marked their fourth sucussful defence.
Drasa Secondary of Lautoka were crowned the Secondary school champions. They beat Saraswati College 2-1.

Related posts