> News > COURTS IDC 2014 > Suva wins Courts IDC

Suva wins Courts IDC

And it took a former Nadi player to guide Suva to glory as Napolioni Qasevakatini scored in the dying stages of the match to delight the Capital City fans.
Having lost to Nadi in the 2014 Vodafone Fiji FACT earlier this year, Suva had a score settle and did not want to disappoint their fans who were eager to see Suva win the new Lloyd
Farebrother Courts IDC trophy.
Normal time could not decide the winner as two extra spells were played. Suva faced a major blow as defender Kolonio Sivoki was given the marching orders by referee Salesh Chand after copping a second yellow card.
Suva coach Gurjit Singh said that at stage penalty kicks seemed to be best option for his side.
“In the extra two spells the message was to fall back, defend and head for the penalty shootout but we had a good break through and Napolioni Qasevakatini managed to score,” Singh said.
Suva last held the Courts IDC title in 2012 and lost it a year later. The victory in the 2014 edition of the event marks a historic year for Suva having also won the Fiji Sun/Skipper Tuna National Football League to qualify the 2015 OFC Champions League.
“It was unfortunate that Suva missed the Fiji FACT and INKK BOG titles this year but we fought back and won the last two. I’m proud of the boys who have worked really hard to make us all proud. Nadi was a good side and gave us a really tough match.”
“To the fans thank you for your support and turning out in numbers, “Singh said.
Suva president Mahen Prasad said that all criticisms surrounding the signing of Qasevakatini have now been proved wrong.
“There was lot of criticism when Suva signed Qasevakatini but today he has proved his worth. Our coach Gurjit Singh knew what he was seeking and did not make a mistake in signing Qasevakatini,” he said.
Suva was $18, 000 richer as they walked away with the first prize money.
In other divisions Rakiraki was crowned the premier champs after a 2-1 win over Nasinu and Kamil College beat Vunimoli Islamia 2-0.
Lautoka won the primary school title after a 2-1 win over Labasa.
2014 Courts Inter District Championship
Finals Day
Super Premier Final
Full Time: Suva 1 Nadi 0
Suva Goal: Napolioni Qasevakatini 105+6’
Suva Cautions: Leone Damudamu 45’, Kolinio Sivoki 75’, 90+2’
Suva Sent OFF: Kolonio Sivoki 90+2’
Nadi Cautions: Samuela Drudru 12’, Mataiasi Toma 90+3’, Vuniuci Tikomaimereke 102’, Lekima Gonerau 105+1’
4pm ANZ Stadium, Suva
Primary School Final
Full Time: Lautoka 2 Labasa 1
Lautoka Goals: Sekove Uluikavoro 20’
Labasa Goals: Mauzim Khan 50’, Jacob Levaci 58’ (Own Goal)
11.15am ANZ Stadium, Suva
Secondary School Final
Full Time: Kamil College 2 Vunimoli Islamia 0
Full Time: Rakiraki 8 Navua 7 (Penalty shoot-out)
Rakiraki Goals: Sumeet Krishan, Avinesh Sami , Daniel Dass, Roveen Vikash, Akei Uluibau , Yogendran, Edwin Raju, Nimilote Amini
Navua Goals: Praneel Kumar, Michea Kumar, Vineet Chand, Monit Chand, Seveci Rokotakala, Nathan Shivam, Ili Katonibau
Rakiraki Cautions: Sheik Shamin 11’, 16’
Rakiraki Sent OFF: Sheik Shamin 16’
Semifinal 2 :
Full Time: Nasinu 1 Taveuni 0
Nasinu Goal: Ashneel Prasad 21’
Nasinu Cautions: Suraj Chand 34’, Navinesh Akash 55’, Dinesh Mudaiar 56’
Taveuni Cautions: Ratu Apensia 14’, Lenati T 18’, Keni 43’, Vijendra K 53’
Taveuni Sent Off: Ratu Apenisa 37’
Premier Final
Full Time: Rakiraki 2 Nasinu 1
Rakiraki Goals: Edwin Raju 15’, Sumeet Krishan 22’
Rakiraki Cautions: Simon R 16’, Daniel D 43’
Nasinu Goal: Robert Nair 30’
2pm ANZ Stadium, Suva

Related posts